With Three New Members Confirmed, New York Senate Illuminates the “No” on MTA Board’s “Vacancy” Sign

Image: @NYSenate/Twitter

Last night the New York State Senate confirmed seven MTA Board nominees. Among those seven names are four current members who have been renewed (Andrew AlbertFernando FerrerSusan G. Metzger and Polly Trottenberg) as well as three newcomers:

  • Carl Weisbrod, who was nominated in March by New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio, is a Senior Advisor at HR&A Advisors and former chair of the New York City Planning Commission. Weisbrod will fill the fourth of the New York City seats on the board, joining David Jones, Polly Trottenberg and TSTC Executive Director Veronica Vanterpool.
  • Scott Rechler, who was nominated by Governor Cuomo, is CEO of RXR Realty, chair of the Regional Plan Association board, and former vice chair of the Port Authority board. Rechler is also a member of the seven-person committee tasked with conducting a nationwide search for a permanent MTA Chair and Chief Executive Officer.
  • Randy Glucksman, vice chair of the Permanent Citizens Advisory Committee to the MTA, was nominated by the Metro-North Railroad Commuter Council. Glucksman, like his PCAC counterparts Andrew Albert and Ira Greenberg, will be a non-voting member.

Glucksman, Rechler and Weisbrod will fill the last of three vacancies on the MTA board. Glucksman’s seat became available a year ago when board member Neal Zuckerman was moved from the non-voting seat nominated by the Metro-North Commuter Council to the 1/4-vote Putnam County seat. The seat Weisbrod will fill had been vacant since New York City Councilman Ydanis Rodriguez, nominated by Mayor de Blasio in 2015, was not confirmed.

Be the first to comment on "With Three New Members Confirmed, New York Senate Illuminates the “No” on MTA Board’s “Vacancy” Sign"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.